Trusting like Abraham

The reality of faith is one that is, ironically, scary.  To trust is to give up control to someone else.  When I trust myself, I plan & determine & try to control the outcome.  Faith in Christ means I don’t always know what He’s going to do, where He’s going to lead or how He’s going to provide.

We like faith when we’re comfortable.  It makes for a great story line.  But when we are called to enter that story line & to step out in faith, we get a different perspective.

Abraham is certainly one who sets a great example of trusting.   In Genesis 22 we see that He willingly trusted God with his only son Isaac, even when what God called him to seemed absolutely ridiculous.  And by this point in Abraham’s life, there was no questioning when it was God who was giving him direction.  I love Abraham’s faith, but what I love even more is how God provided.  God required a sacrifice and yet He ended up providing the sacrifice Himself…

11 But the angel of the Lord called out to him from heaven, “Abraham! Abraham!” “Here I am,” he replied. 12 “Do not lay a hand on the boy,” he said. “Do not do anything to him. Now I know that you fear God, because you have not withheld from me your son, your only son.” 13 Abraham looked up and there in a thicket he saw a ram caught by its horns. He went over and took the ram and sacrificed it as a burnt offering instead of his son. 14 So Abraham called that place The Lord Will Provide. And to this day it is said, “On the mountain of the Lord it will be provided.”

I often want God to send me an email with explicit instructions, yet it is usually after we’ve stepped out in faith that we see God come through.  More and more I realize that faith is often the place where I will completely fall on my face unless God steps in.  May we find Him faithful today.

2 Comments

  1. Good post, Steve, one to get us thinking.

    True faith (I don’t know whether it’s a sign of the times or the state of today’s Church that compels me to qualify “faith” with “true!” Either way it distresses me greatly to have to do so.) requires seeing God as all and self as nothing.

    Faith requires coming to Him in humility (do a study on humility and you’ll find it isn’t what you think it is). Watch the terrific movie Amazing Grace for a hint of John Newton’s humility and then start reading his letters. Yeah, I know the movie’s more about Wilberforce than Newton untill, and I repeat “until,” you realize that the man God used to help mold Wilberforce into tne man God wanted him to become was Newton. When we see ourselves properly as blind worms, wretchedly in need of a Savior–make that THE Savior, the real Jesus and not the imitation ones people are finding in their self-pleasing prayer and spiritual formation exercises [ACCEPT NO SUBSTITUTES!]–then the scales on our eyes may be lifted.

    Want more faith, spend more time w/ Jesus in the prayer closet and His Word, and find Godly men and women who can impact your life for the good. Your faith-mentor could be the poor, wretched worm you sat next to last week in church and tried your best to avoid.

    Faith and humility and other attributes God wants us to develop and possess are like muscles and have to be stretched. Sort of the spiritual equivalent of “use it or lose it.”

  2. Thanks, man. I know, but often forget, that I cannot stand unless the Lord makes me stand.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

