It’s the small stuff

Ever notice how challenging it can be to trust God for the day to day, seemingly small things? In some regards, it’s “easy” to trust God for salvation. After all, that’s something that is beyond our five senses. We can grasp in our minds what is meant by our salvation, and yet, it still remains something of a mystery that is, on the other hand, so far beyond our grasp that it doesn’t really register.
However, consider the challenge of trusting God for our daily bread. I think the difficulty is trusting God to provide things that we feel we are capable of doing on our own (or should be able to do on our own). When we are told to trust God for our basic needs, that’s what stretches us. I don’t know about you, but what gets me is when God tells me to just wait for something that I can’t see and that I don’t have a deadline for. Part of me wants to scream out – just do something! But there are plenty of good reasons why He is God, chief among them is that He knows what He’s doing.
Take a look at Abraham – take your family and go to the land I’ll show you (paraphrase). How would you respond to that? My response…what? what do you mean the land you’ll show me? shouldn’t you at least let me google where we’re going so I know how to plan?
Faith is being sure of what we hope for and certain of what is unseen (another paraphrase – Heb 11:1). For Christ followers, ours is to go, trusting in His provision & resting in His love. One of these days I may actually get this. But until then, I’ll keep stumbling ahead.

5 Comments

  1. Today, Saturday, I hit a pothole. A BIG pothole, that left the front passenger side wobbly, letting me know that something was wrong. My thoughts were, damn!! Something else to worry about. Will God provide for this also?? How will this be corrected?? I have to work next Saturday where I need to drive around town to different locations. How will I get the car fixed? My heart is pounding and fear creeps in on me, making me want to worry, to fear, to think about taking control, to fix the problem. Fear wants me to wonder if my God knows my needs even before I ask Him. Will he supply this need?? I am now fighting to keep back the thoughts that want to make me fear about the future. Do I put it off and out of my mind? Am I procrastinating, avoiding reality, or do I continue to believe that God will supply my needs. Do I close the door to fear and anxiety?? I want to be at peace. I choose to believe and to put this problem in God’s hands and wait to let him provide the solution. Support me in your belief. Can you tell me what God has done for you to let me know that I am not alone?

    April 26, 2009 4:26 AM

  2. My hope is based on Christ’s promises. Specifically related to this subject is Matthew 6. Christ teaches that He is aware of our needs and cites multiple examples (birds, grass, etc.) of His provision. Do I worry about how certain needs will be met (be it broken windows or otherwise)? Yes. My desire & effort is towards not worrying and instead focusing on doing what God has given me to do today. And there is a difference between our needs and wants. I have wants (e.g., to get a new laptop to replace my old one which is falling apart) and then there are my needs (food, clothing, etc.). I have the assurance that I don’t need to worry about tomorrow’s needs as He will provide them. There have been multiple times when my daily bread was in question, but He has always provided in one way or another.

  3. I will add to Steve’s comments in that MULTIPLE times we have needed money for basic bills (food, water, clothes, house, water, electric, etc….) and had only a few dollars in the bank and NO money on the horizon ( as I am commission only.) We based our lives on the promise that He will meet our basic daily needs (Matthew 6-8 and many more passages). Our new motto became, “Our bills are paid through midnight, that is what He has promised and we will praise Him”, and out of nowhere, a check in the mail, or a call to come see someone and they handed us money saying, “I believe the Lord would have me give you this.”

    This has multiple times.

    He uses crisis to display His glory! Follow Him today, He will provide!

  4. OUR CHOICE

    If you had a choice, right now, to choose to be with Christ Jesus in heaven would you choose to do so? Being human and having the power of choice, can we choose to ask God to grant us a wish? You see, there are three realms, earth, heaven, and hell. We live on the earth in the now, and we believe, as Christians, that at some point Christ will return to the earth and judge us in the final days. Many of us will go to hell and the rest will live in heaven with Christ Jesus, our heavenly Father, and the Holy Spirit.

    Christ said: “And all things whatever you ask for in prayer, believing, you shall receive.”
    What if, we asked God to stop this game, that is being played out on earth, and grant us the one wish of living with him in heaven. What if, we choose to not allow Satan any more control over our lives and our future and made the decision to ask God to end this game, right now. What if we, as human beings, with the power of choice; made a conscious decision to choose Christ Jesus, right now, over the day to day challenges and temptations that Satan offers.

    Say, in 2015, 9 billion, or 8 billion or 5 billion people, Jews, Catholics, Baptists, Protestants, Jahovah Witnessers, Lutherians, Episcapalians, Muslims, Buddists, Hindu’s, and every other worshiper, got together on an Easter Sunday and prayed to God, asking him to bring on the end of days. We can asked Jesus Christ to come and bring us home to his kingdom in heaven, so that we can stop playing this earthly game. Would that become a challenge??

    Christ said: “And I say to you, ask, and it shall be given to you; seek, and you shall find; knock and it shall be opened to you. For everyone who asks receives; and he who seeks finds; and to him who knocks it shall be opened.” Billions of people, acting as one, crying out to our heavenly Father, “Take us home.” OH GOD, take us from the land of the Pharaohs!!! Take us from the hands of evil and bring us home to your kingdom!!! Can we ask strong enough?? Can we ask hard enough??

    Christ said: “And in that day you shall ask me nothing. Amen, amen, I say to you, if you ask the Father anything in my name, he will give it to you. Hitherto you have not asked anything in my name. Ask, and you shall receive, that your joy may be full.” Do we want to be filled with eternal joy??

    Can you imagine how we can make this happen?? Can you understand the power that God has given us in order that we may choose our own destiny, right now. We don’t have to wait until tomorrow, while Satan tricks and traps millions more souls into the fires of hell!!! The decision is ours. Can we choose?? Can we make this happen?? Can we start a holy movement around the world and set the date of our going home???

    Christ said: ” I say to you further, that if two of you shall agree on earth about anything at all for which they ask, it shall be done for them by my Father in heaven. For where two or three are gathered together for my sake, there am I in the midst of them.”

    Take the poll! Express your belief! Give a contribution! Donate to this cause! Make it happen! Pass this message on to your friends and family.

    Come, Holy Spirit, fill the hearts of thy faithful and enkindle in them the fire of Thy love.

    jsolo
    worldpeaceandfinancialsecurity.blogspot.com

  5. Dear jsolo,
    you pose some interesting questions.

    Let’s start w/ where would I chose to be: Yep, Paul says to be absent from the body is to be present w/ Jesus, but in context to the whole of Scriptures that choice is a cop-out. Jesus said pray for workers because the fields are white and ready to harvest. I take His word to tell me that it’s more important to be “about My Father’s business,” than being anywhare else. In fact, sanctified believers are already in Jesus’ presence.

    As for asking for something in His name, well that’s simple: in His name is w/ His authority, which means whatever I ask must be something that Jesus Himself would ask. As much as I would like a new AC system in my car, I’m content w/ seeing how that would glorify God the Father.

    Do I want to be filled w/ eternal joy? As I’ve learned to say in Packerland; “You betcha!” Joy comes in the morning, along w/ His tender mercies.

    Here’s something to think about praying (sorry but I don’t remember to whom I should attribute it): A small child says to Mom that he’ going out to pick some flowers for his Daddy. Great idea, and he goes off on his own. He returns w/ a coupla buttercups, daisies, something blue, some other leafy things w/ sharp stickers, a few rugged sticks, mushrooms, even a cuopla dandelions. Mom looks at her child’s efforts and says, “Daddy’s going to love these. Let’s see if we can make them even prettier.” She sorts through the handful and removes the weeds and the less sightly ones, and puts the remaing flowers in a small vase. “Now,” she says, “how’s that? I think Daddy’s going to love these. Don’t you?” He grins ear-to-ear and says, “Can we take them to Daddy now?” “Of course,” she replies. All of which is to say that the Holy Spirit sorts through our prayers and takes them to His throne.

    Keep looking for that city whose architect and builder is God,
    Wesconsin


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

