When it isn’t easy or fun

Running is one of my favorite things to do. I’m not fast, so I don’t expect to win many races (although  I do plan to focus more on speed this year).  Some of my best times w/ God have come during my runs when I can get away from everything and just think and pray.

There are days like today when the Christian life feels very much like a long run that doesn’t feel good, when it becomes an issue of simply putting one foot in front of the other in the same direction until I reach the end.  There are days on the spiritual journey when it doesn’t “feel” great or fun or enjoyable.  These are the days when my faith can’t be based on “feeling” God’s presence but in trusting that He knows and does what’s best.

Sometimes (ok, a lot of times) I wonder what God is doing in my life.  Very few things have gone according to how I thought or planned.  I know this has everything to do w/ trusting in God’s sovereignty, however, I still struggle when things aren’t as I expected.  I know God is working out His perfect plan and that all is for His glory and for our good, but I still find myself wrestling with what I want and with what God wants.  I really look forward to when my faith is made sight.  Until then, it’s one foot in front of the other.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

